"A Nurse Practitioner Available to all Residents of Saskatchewan"

Become a Member Today

SANP is a non-profit, volunteer-run, professional organization that supports and advances the professional interests of its membership — NPs, NP students, and nurses who have an interest in the NP practice.

More about SANP…

New class of “Practitioners” in the Controlled Drug and Substances Act

Great news! The changes to the Controlled Drug and Substances Act as requested by Nurse Practitioners in Canada are officially one step closer to reality.  On May 5, 2012 the proposed changes were posted in the Gazette http:  //www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/2012/2012-05-05/html/reg1-eng.html

 The regulations are posted for 30 days for a consultation period.  If there is no negative feedback, the regulations will be signed by the federal government and then, are posted on the Gazette for a second time. It is only on this second posting that the proposed change becomes ‘law’.

 SANP has sent an email to the SRNA to determine what steps are needed in Saskatchewan in to implement this change.

Congratulations to SRNA for a successful AGM and conference

Congratulations to  SRNA for a successful AGM and conference.  Please see the attached SRNA resolutions, which were passed at the AGM.  Also please note instructions sent by the SRNA Executive Director Karen Eisler RN (personal communication, 2012):

Read more: Congratulations to SRNA for a successful AGM and conference

Congratulations Pam Komomoski RN(NP)

Congratulations to Pamela Komomoski RN (NP) who was elected as SRNA Region 6 Council member at the SRNA Annual General Meeting May 2, 2012 held at the Delta Hotel Regina. SK.

SANP Elects a New Executive

Welcome to the new elected SANP Executive!!!


2012-2013 Executive

Backrow L to R: Shelly Cal Treasurer, Arlene Eckert Regional Rep Keewatin Yathe/Mamawetan Churchill Rover/Athabasca Health Authority, Ivy Poulin Regional Rep Prairie North/Prince Albert Parkland/Heartland/Cypress Hills, Nicki Ford Regional Rep Kelsey Trail/Sunrise/Sun Country/Five Hills, Barb Beaurivage Regional Rep Saskatoon/Regina Qu'Appelle, Debbie Bathgate Communications Chair

Front Row L to R: Tracy Daigneault Eduation Chair, Barb Warkentin President, Maureen Klenk Past President, Lia Boxall President Elect,

Eight Years Running!

By Debbie Bathgate RN(NP)


The Saskatchewan Association of Nurse Practitioners (SANP) and the Nurse Practitioners of Saskatchewan (NPOS) held the 8th Annual Nurse Practitioner Education Conference April 20-21, 2012 at the German Concordia Club in Saskatoon. An outstanding two thirds of the province's Nurse Practitioners (NP's) attended. Activities included the Annual General Meetings of SANP and NPOS, the gala NP leadership celebration and award night, and enlightening clinical sessions.


Read more: Eight Years Running!

Lynn Digney Davis Awarded the Heather Keith Nurse Practitioner Leadership Award

By Debbie Bathgate RN(NP)


Heather Keith and recipient Lynn Digney Davis

Roll out the red carpet!  On April 20, 2012 the Saskatchewan Association of Nurse Practitioner's (SANP's) second annual Heather Keith Leadership celebration honored three well deserving nurse practitioners (NP)s in the presence of peers, family and health care and government leaders.  The Heather Keith Nurse Practitioner Leadership award is a peer recognition award that acknowledges nurse practitioner leadership, advocacy and community involvement through volunteerism.  The nurse practitioners so honoured were Shelly Cal, Lynn Digney Davis and Wendy Quinn.

Read more: Lynn Digney Davis Awarded the Heather Keith Nurse Practitioner Leadership Award